2016 New Zealand Car of the Year Revealed

The Mercedes-Benz E-Class has been awarded the 2016 New Zealand Car of the Year title by the NZ Motoring Writer’s Guild and NZ Automobile Association (AA).  The award has been around for nearly 28 years and partnered with the AA in 2012.

It was chosen from a shortlist of 10 which included the likes of Mazda CX-3, Skoda Superb, Holden Spark and Suzuki Vitara. A range of factors were considered including styling, performance, technology and of course driving experience.

To be eligible for the 2016 award, vehicles had to be launched between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016.

The panel said, "When it comes to impressing, the E-Class covers every base: From its exterior sleek lines, to the outstanding cockpit with its advance technology, and its safety features that go above and beyond expectations. New Zealand's motoring media agree with international critics - "Mercedes-Benz, make room in your trophy cabin because the E-Class is a winner.”

The other best in class winners were:
Small car - Holden Spark
Compact car - Honda Civic
Medium/Large car - Skoda Superb
Luxury car - Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Small SUV - Mazda CX-3
Medium SUV - Volkswagen Tiguan
Large SUV - Mazda CX-9
Luxury SUV - Volvo XC90
Utility - Ford Ranger
Sports/Performance - Ford Mustang GT
Safest car - Mercedes-Benz GLC.


Just added to your cart:
Checkout Now
Just added to your wishlist:
Excl. postage 
My Wishlist